MasterChef: Chocolate and Raspberry Cake

Although I only made it to the top 7 of MasterChef UK, there were a number of completed, (and half completed!!) recipes that I had up my sleeve, which I never got the chance to cook.

These included the below list.  Why don’t you vote which recipes you would like to have?  And tell me which three sounds the most appealing to you?

Over the next couple of weeks, while MasterChef UK is still being aired, I will share with you some of these recipes.

This week, on MasterChef UK, the contestants were tasked with cooking a Fine Dining menu, with Michel Roux Jr as judge!  So what would I have cooked?

I probably would have cooked the Lemon Chicken as the main course, followed by my Chocolate and Raspberry Cake, which I sometimes call Raspberry Surprise.

The Chocolate Raspberry Surprise is a dessert I have been making for many, many years, and therefore is one that I have tweaked to bring it (hopefully) up to MasterChef standard.  It is a light airy sponge, soaked in raspberry liquer with a sour cream and raspberry filling, encircled with chocolate and toped with cream and chocolate shavings.  It is absolutely delicious – but would it have been enough to impress Michel Roux Jr, Gregg Wallace and John Torode?  We will never know!

The great thing about this recipe, is that although I have jazzed it up to meet the criteria of ‘Fine Dining’.  I used to make it as a large cake without the liquer and the chocolate encasing. Instead, I smothered it with whipped double cream and grated chocolate – it is just as delicious, and looks something like this:

INGREDIENTS

50g plain flour

Pinch of salt

2 eggs

65g caster sugar

Raspberry liqueur (approximately 2 tbsp, but will depend on the size of your cake)

225g raspberries

300ml soured cream

75g caster sugar

200g plain dark chocolate

150ml double cream

1tbsp caster sugar

Vanilla bean

METHOD

For the sponge

Gradually beat the sugar into the eggs until white.  Place the bowl over a saucepan of water, and continue to whisk until the mixture is thick.  Lightly fold in the sifted flour and salt.  Pour into a small prepared cake tin and bake at 190 degrees Celsius for 15-20 minutes.  Check it is cooked by putting a knife into the centre, and if it comes out clean – it is cooked.

For the raspberry and sour cream filling

Once the sponge has cooled, take a circular mold of approximately 4-5 cm in diameter, and use the mold to cut up the sponge.  Depending on the size of your sponge and mold you should get about 3-4.  Lightly cover the sponge with raspberry liqueur.  Scatter the raspberries over the sponge.  Stir the soured cream and sugar together, and pour over the raspberries.  Bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 25 minutes until set.  Allow to cool in the tins.

For the chocolate surround

Temper the chocolate, using the recipe here in a previous blog.  Cut out a strip of acetate which will go around the cake mold, but is slightly higher than the cake. You can use greaseproof paper if you do not have any acetate, but acetate will give you a smoother and easier finish.  Spread the chocolate onto the cut acetate and leave to set, when almost set wrap around the sponge and sour cream cake and leave to set.

For the cream

Whip the cream with sugar and vanilla bean using a Si whip.  Fill the centre of the chocolate encasing.

For the chocolate scrolls

Using the tempered chocolate, pour onto a clean flat surface and allow to cool.  Scroll a large knife along the surface away from you to make long scrolls.  Add the scrolls on top of the cream, with a couple of fresh rasperries.  Keep in the fridge to ensure the chocolate retains its crunch.

Place on a serving plate, and enjoy!

13 thoughts on “MasterChef: Chocolate and Raspberry Cake

  1. Kedgeree Ravioli really stands out, but now I wish I’d voted for the eucalyptus pannacotta, I feel sad for it! Really interesting ideas – willing to bet Greg would have loved the chocolate and raspberry cake, too.

  2. Hey, Emma, thanks for this post. Had never thought to use a genoise sponge for this. Is that so that you reduce the baking time so that the sour-cream filling doesn’t curdle or something? I was surprised to read it’s a sour-cream filling without egg that is used at the pre-bake stage – how to you keep it from not running or curdling? I should try an adaptation of my choco-rasp cake with your genoise technique and possibly baked filling.

    Cheers,

    Andrew

    1. Hi Andrew,

      My preference is always a genoise sponge, however, it does go well with this recipe as the sour cream and raspberries start to seep into it, and it makes it lovely and gooey. And I haven’t had the sour cream curdle yet!

      Let me know how it goes!

      emma

      1. Hi Emma, thanks for your response. I was wondering whether there’s a way to do a genoise and still incorporate bain-maried chocolate to the batter. Any views on how to incoporate it without affecting how the batter comes together whilst being bain-maried itself?

        Best wishes,

        Andrew

      2. Hey Andrew! I have absolutely no idea, and have had a good look on the web…. so I’ve picked up a packet of white chocolate at the supermarket this weekend – I will give it a shot, and will let you know what I come up with 🙂

Leave a Reply

