Tiramisu and nerves

It has been six months exactly since I started writing this blog.  Most of that time has been spent on recuperating from a serious car accident.  I have found this hard at times, especially since I have not had the health to capitalise from my appearance on MasterChef UK.  But, I like to see things from a positive perspective, and my forced recuperation time has had some benefits; mainly that it has given me time to think and reflect, and in some ways re-prioritise.

I have worked with and for Teach First for 7 years, and I have loved it.  I work with some amazing people, who are inspirational, challenging, dedicated, and working towards a  vision that I strongly believe in, that ‘No child’s educational success is limited by their socio-economic background’.

However, today I sent a bittersweet email to say that my last day working for Teach First will be the 24 August, and that I will be moving to Brussels.  Quite ironic considering I started this blog 6 months ago.  I have an exciting new job which will allow me to settle into Brussels, and give me a new challenge. But I also have a BIG GOAL – and that is to set up my own cafe. The decision to move to Brussels has not come lightly, but I have family and friends in Brussels, who I want to develop stronger relationships with, and who I know will give me the support and encouragement I need to achieve my Big Goal.

Now that I have made this all very public…. I am having mild panic attacks, wondering whether I am doing the right thing, whether I will enjoy living in Brussels, and whether I will be able to achieve my Big Goal – I have a little bit of self doubt, excitement, nervouseness all rolled into one – and what better way to calm one’s nerve than to indulge in Tiramisu……

This recipe is quick, easy, indulgent, a classic, and came from an Italian friend of the family – so authentic aswell!

Enjoy!  And if you know of any contacts in Brussels who you think might be able to help- I would love to hear from you!

Tiramisu:

Ingredients:

  • 500 grammes Mascarpone Cheese
  • 80 grammes Caster Sugar
  • 2  packets of Italian Ladyfingers (I used Vicenzovo)
  • 5 egg yolks and 2 egg whites
  • 250ml strong coffee
  • 50ml of Amaretto or Madeira ( more or less to taste)
  • Cocoa powder

Method:

  1. Make the coffee and leave to cool.
  2. In a bowl, beat the egg whites until very firm.
  3. In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks and the sugar together until light and fluffy.
  4. Add the mascarpone cheese to the egg yolks to create a firm mixture.
  5. Add the egg whites to the mascarpone and egg yolk mixture, folding together very carefully with the wooden spoon.
  6. Mix together the coffee and the Amaretto in a small bowl.
  7. Now layer the dish you are using (normally I use a large glass dish, but today I used large glasses) alternating with the cream egg mixture and the biscuits.
  8. Cover the base of the dish with the mixture to a depth.  Then take one biscuit at a time and dip into the coffee-amaretto without making it too soft.
  9. Put the biscuit into the dish and repeat unti the mixture is covered with the biscuits.
  10. Cover the biscuits with a layer of the mixture.
  11. Repeat 8,9 and 10 until you are at the top and the last layer is the egg mixture.
  12. Using a sieve, dust the Tiramisu with a fine layer of cocoa powder.
  13. Put in the fridge for at least 2 to 3 hours before eating to let all the ingredients infuse with the coffee and amaretto and it sets a little.  When ready to serve, take it out at the last moment.
Leave a Reply

