Olympic Cake

I have a party to go to tonight for the Opening Cermony of the Olympics, London 2012, so I thought I would make a special Olympic themed cake to get us in the mood for celebration.

I decided to make the London 2012 Olympic Mascots – Wenlock and Mandeville, and you couldn’t have an olympic cake without the olympic rings.

Let me know what you think!  I really enjoyed making it, and I am starting to wonder if I could start to charge for my cakes??

To make the cake:

I used my chocolate cake recipe.  I baked two cakes, and once they were cool, I sandwiched them together with Buttercream Icing.  I then covered the whole cake with Buttercream icing, and left it overnight in the fridge to harden.

The following day, I covered the cake with fondant icing.

To make Wenlock and Mandeville:

I used Modelling Paste to make the mascots.  To make Modelling Paste mix 1tsp of Tylo Powder or GumTex for every 250g of Sugar Paste.  Make sure you keep it covered at all times, otherwise the air will start to dry it and it will become hard and brittle.  I rolled out large chunks of the paste to make their body shape. To make the legs, I simply slit the bottom half of the body.  To make the arms, I rolled smaller sausage shapes, and pressed the ends to make the hands.  I stuck them into the body shape with toothpicks.

I used a variety of colour dyes from Americolor which I bought from www.faircake.co.uk : Red Red, Electric Orange, Electric Green, Electric Blue, Black, Electric Yellow, and Electric Pink.  To use the dyes, I took a small piece of white Modelling Paste, and kneading it to warm it up, I flattened it slightly, placed a teardrop of the dye, and then kneaded it more.  You need to be carefull, because the dye can squeeze out the side.

To assemble, I attached Wedlock and Mandeville with a small tube going through the cake and half of the body.  I placed the olympic rings on, and using Edible Ink Pen, I wrote LONDON 2012, and also drew the logo onto the mascots.

Leave a Reply

