In search for The Perfect Brownie

The Perfect BrownieFor some time now, I have been trying to perfect The Perfect Brownie.  To start my quest I did three things:  1) I asked friends to send me their recipes, 2) I searched my cook books, and 3) I did what any modern day person would do… I surfed the net.

What became apparent, was that for such a quick and simple recipe, Brownies could yield so many different results.  Even more perplexing than that, was defining the word ‘Perfect’ especially when everyone had their own idea of what made The Perfect Brownie.

After many recipes, and many tastings, I have decided that I like my Brownie slightly gooey, with a thin crackly crust on the top.

Here is the winning recipe:

Brownies:

  • 2 eggs
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 240g dark chocolate (64% minimum)
  • 150g unsalted butter
  • 1 vanilla pod, seeded
  • 20g cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 60g plain flower
  • 100g dark chocolate (71% minimum), chopped finely
  1. Whisk the eggs and sugar together until thick and pale.
  2.  Melt the 240g chocolate with the butter, then add the vanilla and fold into the egg into the egg mixture.
  3. Sift together the cocoa powder, baking powder, and flour, and fold them into the mixutre as well.
  4. Add the chopped chocolate and transfer the whole mixture to a lined 12 x 36 x 4 cm baking tray and place in a preheated oven at 180°C for 20-25 minutes. The brownie should be just cooked, but still soft in the middle. Allow to cool on a wire rack.

So now that you have the basic recipe – the fun can begin!  Brownies are great for adding flavours to:

Raspberries, Baileys, Espresso, Orange Zest, Butterscotch Chips, Kahlua, Cream Cheese Icing, White chocolate, Macademia nuts, Walnuts, Black Cherries, Coconut, Beetroot, Hazelnuts, Smarties, M&Ms, Raisins, Peanut Butter, Cacao Nibs, Pecans, After 8s, Salted Caramel, Chilli, Lavender Drops, Sugared black olives, Oreo Cookies, Pistachios, Rose Water, Matcha, Blueberries, Caramel, Coca-Cola, Sweet Potatoe, Amaretto, Cardammon, Pistachio… the list goes on….

How do you like your Brownies?  And what is your favourite flavouring?

Brownies

9 thoughts on “In search for The Perfect Brownie

  1. The search for the perfect brownie seems almost innate for cooking enthusiasts. I like my brownie chewy but soft. I love how many different things you can do with brownies!

Leave a Reply

