Sunshine and Fruit Salad

Fruit SaladIt is a beautiful blue sky, sun shining, kind of day, in Brussels today.  It is a Saturday, and unusually I have absolutely nothing planned until this evening. The weather has been so bad this year, that I thought I would take this rare opportunity to soak up the sun, while catching up with some Blog writing.  I have set myself up on my small terrace, I am  listening to some brilliant live African music play in a festival in the square outside my flat, drinking iced cool mint tea, and eating fruit salad.  Eating a lovely fresh fruit salad, always gives me that feeling of being on holiday.

So why don’t you join me?  Set yourself up outside, enjoy some of the sun, and eat a fruit salad – better still, invite the friends round, and share it with them!

Ingredients:

  • A selection of fruit
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Mint
  • lime

Make the Syrup: In a small saucepan, make a basic syrup.  This is essentially half and half sugar and water.  Depending on how much fruit you have, will depend on the amount you need.  I was only making a small amount, so I used about 50g sugar, and 50ml of water.   Add the grated zest of half a lime, and the juice of half the lime.  Add a handful of finely chopped mint.  Bring to the boil.  Leave to cool.

Prepare the fruit:  Buy a selection of fruit.  I used Melon, Raspberries, Blueberries, and Nectarines, but you could use anything that is ripe and takes your fancy.   Chop the Melon and Nectarines in small chunks.   Place in a bowl.  When the syrup has cooled, pour over the fruit, and leave to marinate further.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

